Skip to Page Content

Board of Directors

    President

    Jim Burns, PHR, SHRM-CP
    NE Area HR Manager
    CommScope
    Phone: (434) 386-5104
    Email: jim.burns@commscope.com

    President-Elect

    Paul Kopack, SPHR, HCS, SHRM-SCP
    Director of Human Resources
    Johnson Health Center
    Phone: (434) 688-6131
    Email: pkopack@jhcvirginia.org

    Past President

    Connie C. Burnette, PHR, SHRM-CP
    Vice President, Department Manager, Human Resources
    Wiley/Wilson
    Phone: (434) 455-3243
    Cell: (434) 841-9012
    Email: cburnette@wileywilson.com

    Chapter Secretary

    Lauren Metz
    Human Resources Supervisor
    Utility One Source Forestry Equipment LLC
    Phone: (434) 525-2929
    Email: lmetz@u1source.com

    Director of Finance

    Karen Jordan
    Human Resources Manager
    Virginia A&E
    Phone: (434) 316-6001
    Email: kjordan@virginia-ae.com

    Director of Government Affairs 

    David E Barney
    Vice President, Employee Benefits Consultant
    Scott Benefit Services
    Phone: (434) 832-2160
    Cell: (434) 942-3900
    Email: dbarney@scottins.com

    Director of Membership

    Nate Mahanes
    Business Development Manager
    VA Dept. for Aging and Rehabilitative Services
    Phone: (434) 947-6721
    Cell: (434) 515-0061
    Email: nate.mahanes@dars.virginia.gov

    Director of Professional Development

    Caitlin King, SPHR, SHRM-SCP
    Sr. Human Resource Generalist
    OrthoVirginia
    Cell: (434) 258-7903
    Email: Caitlin.King@orthovirginia.com

    Director of Public Relations

    Opal Smith
    Specialist, Training Systems
    CommScope
    Phone: (434) 386-5317
    Email:  opal.smith@commscope.com